Eligible Countries

Eligible Sending Partners
The Stipendium Hungaricum Programme is based on effective bilateral educational cooperation agreements between the Hungarian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade or its legal predecessor as regards the Stipendium Hungaricum Scholarship Programme, the Ministry of Human Capacities, and the partner’s Ministry responsible for higher education. Applications will be considered eligible only if the applicant is nominated by the responsible authorities of the Sending Partner.

For full time programmes, students can apply from the following sending partners: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Banglades, Brazil, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belarus, Cambodia, China (including the Hudec scholarships), Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Georgia, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Kosovo, Kurdistan Regional Government/Iraq, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nigeria, Pacific Alliance (Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru), Pakistan, Palestine, Paraguay, The Philippines, Republic of Cape Verde, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, South-Africa, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen

For part time programmes, students can apply from the following sending partners: Albania, Belarus, Cambodia, China (only Hudec applicants), Georgia, India, Iran, Japan, Korea, Laos, Lebanon, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Vietnam

Applications will not be considered in the following cases:
- Hungarian citizens (including those with dual citizenships)
- former Stipendium Hungaricum scholarship holders, who are re-applying for studies in the same cycle of education (non-degree studies, bachelor, master, doctoral level) including both full time and partial study programmes